Blogging: It’s like a Journal only legible.

PrayerFlags

Yeah so this is me blogging. Writing down my innermost (?) thoughts on here rather than always in my journal. Yes I keep a journal, a handwritten one as I have since I was a kid just starting martial arts. I have a huge pile of them now in a footlocker I keep close to me either at the school or my place. Its one of the best things I have ever done writing down my thoughts, ideas, feelings and notes from teachers as I learned them and travelled through training. Its the most effective and amazing way to look back at yourself and see how far you have come. In my case I went from notes like “Keep your foot vertical in a back kick” to pages long musings about the relative movement of dantien, the yi and the qi. Better than any scrap of cloth anyone could have ever given me really…

I know I tell all my students how good it is to keep one. Sure helps me get through those tough training days when it always seems to be raining in my head.

Leave a Reply

